All Time and Frequency is One

T = \frac{1}{f}

Such a deceptively simple equation. The technical definition is Frequency (f) is the number of occurrences of a repeating event per unit time (T). It is also referred to as temporal frequency.

I’ve spent most of my adult life working with communications technology and auditory processing issues.  So the concept of frequency as it relates to time fascinates me.  Always loving basic algebra, it occurred to me that you could write this equation a different way…

But what does it mean?

This simple equation relates time and frequency together as one.  Now a physicist would probably have a field day with my explanation, but if you interpret it more loosely, the cosmic all – represented by the “ONE” – is comprised of all time and all frequencies.  All past, present and future come together as one.

Leave a comment